His Dark Materials Series Season 1His Dark Materials Series Season 1

Everything to Know About His Dark Materials

Philip Pullman’s fantasy series will come to life with leads James McAvoy, Ruth Wilson and Lin-Manuel Miranda.


Author Philip Pullman’s beloved trilogy, Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass, has been given a two season order from the BBC, with HBO picking up the worldwide rights.

The first season follows Lyra (Dafne Keen), a seemingly ordinary but brave young woman from another world. Lyra's search for a kidnapped friend uncovers a sinister plot involving stolen children, which leads to a quest in understanding a mysterious phenomenon called Dust. As she journeys through the worlds, including one that looks familiar to us, Lyra meets a determined and courageous boy named Will. Together they encounter extraordinary beings and dangerous secrets, with the fate of both the living — and the dead — in their hands.

Keen (best known for her role in Logan) will be joined by James McAvoy as Lyra’s Uncle Asriel; Ruth Wilson as socialite Mrs. Coulter; and Lin-Manuel Miranda as the adventurer Lee Scoresby. They will be joined by a large ensemble cast including Anne-Marie Duff, Clarke Peters, Will Keen, Ian Gelder, Georgina Campbell, James Cosmo and more.

Season 2 will add Fleabag actor Andrew Scott as Colonel John Parry, known to book fans as the scholar and shaman, Jopari. Additionally, newcomer Amir Wilson will be playing Lyra's companion, Will Parry, in Season 2.

Jack Thorne (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child) will be adapting the novels for television, with the first two episodes directed by Oscar-winner Tom Hooper (HBO’s John Adams, The King’s Speech). Season 1’s other directors will be Dawn Shadforth, Otto Bathhurst, Euros Lyn and Jamie Childs. Each season will be eight episodes long.

Executive producing the show are Dan McCulloch, Jane Tranter and Julie Gardner for Bad Wolf; Philip Pullman; Jack Thorne; Tom Hooper; Deborah Forte; Toby Emmerich and Carolyn Blackwood for New Line Cinema; and Ben Irving and Piers Wenger for BBC One.